Erica Scott: Life, Love and Spanking

Ruminations, opinionated observations, darkly humorous blathering and the occasional rant from an outspoken spanko and unapologetic attention wh–, um, hog.

A few quick comments about comments

I’ve recently encountered some confusion and questions about how to post comments to this blog. I agree, it’s not quite as obvious as it was on Blogger.

If you look at any blog entry, check out the top left-hand side, and you’ll see a black square-ish word balloon directly under the date. Click on that, and it will take you to the area where you can write out and post a comment. Easy once you know it, but not intuitive.

Also, if you write a comment to any blog post, it is publicly posted. I don’t have “approve comments first” set up. Please be aware of this; I recently had someone who thought they were sending me private correspondence post all their private information directly into a blog comment! Not something that anyone wants happening. I’ve fixed the settings so that anonymous comments are accepted, so you don’t even have to post a name on a comment if you don’t wish to.

Finally, if you look at the top of my blog, you’ll see that familiar shot of me reclining on the bed, and a Welcome post. I know it says “Leave a comment” at the bottom of that post, but please don’t. The only way I could include that photo on this new blog was to include it into a “sticky” post that would always remain at the top. But it’s not meant for comments, just a welcome entry. However, please do leave comments on any other post! πŸ™‚

Hope this clears up any confusion.

EDIT, 6/24: Thanks to Hermione, I have figured out how to disable comments on the “Welcome” page. So please disregard the last paragraph, as that’s been handled. πŸ™‚

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “A few quick comments about comments

  1. Jadelyn Mathias on said:

    Hi Erica — Thank you for clearing that up.I am so glad that I know where to leave a comment πŸ™‚ It’s a good reminder because I have so much going on, that I could forget.Much Love and hugs to you always from naughty girl Jade / Emily Jean

    Like

  2. A. Lurker on said:

    Hi Erica,
    Just wanted to add a comment to β€œA few quick comments about comments”. πŸ™‚
    R.

    Like

  3. Richard on said:

    Actually there are too hurtels on blogger never commented there even had it once never any fallowers just an outlet

    Like

  4. Richard — well… I had a good run there. But can’t trust them now.

    Like

  5. Thanks, I think this is helpful to your readers. It honestly took me awhile to figure out that the black speech bubbles were for commenting. When you first moved over to WordPress, I had thought you had disabled comments.

    Like

  6. It’s confusing that you have to scroll back up to the top to leave a comment. That’s one of the non-intuitive WordPress features I dislike.

    I think there is a way to edit an individual post and disallow comments on it. Discussion is here: https://wordpress.org/support/topic/how-do-we-disable-comments-on-a-particular-page-or-post

    Hugs,
    Hermione

    Like

    • Hermione — agreed. A lot of WordPress stuff isn’t intuitive. I had to ask someone how to create a link within the blog, and even after he explained it, it was STILL confusing. Argh. Thanks for the info!

      Like

  7. Ian Foster on said:

    I just want to say that I think you are brave to allow comments with no prior moderation. There are a lot of nasty minded people out there!
    Ian

    Like

  8. Anonymous on said:

    Thanks for this explanation, Erica!

    Like

  9. Finally I now how to make comments. I will get back in the contributing again to you wonderful blog

    Like

  10. Pingback: Defining… and redefining | Erica Scott: Life, Love and Spanking

Talk to me!

