Erica Scott: Life, Love and Spanking

Ruminations, opinionated observations, darkly humorous blathering and the occasional rant from an outspoken spanko and unapologetic attention wh–, um, hog.

New Year Musings

Been a while. I have much on my mind, so hunker down. Get a beverage.

First, my thoughts on the past year:

Yeah. It sucked. And looking back at the beginning of last year, I’m amazed that I was so consumed with what I called my “existential bleccchhhh.” I wrote this post last January. What a difference a year makes. Now, how I fit into the spanking scene is no longer a priority. Or on my mind at all, really.

I’m not really part of the scene anymore. I will always love spanking, and I will always enjoy the 20+ years of memories. But honestly, I don’t feel like I fit in with it anymore. Why? To put it simply, it changed, as things do, and I didn’t. No one’s fault; it’s just the way it is. And now, with some time past, I feel like I can talk about at least some of it.

I’ve always been a niche player. I am a 100% bottom; I never switch. And I bottom to men only. This didn’t used to be an issue. Now things are different. The party scene is more fluid. Roles are not clearly defined any longer. And it seems everyone plays with pretty much everyone — orientations as well as genders are fluid. I am not — repeat, NOT — saying this is wrong. It’s far more inclusive, and good for many more people. But for someone like me, it creates a feeling of awkwardness.

It used to be at parties, you basically put people together in some rooms and left them to their own devices as to how to play. Now, it seems the trend is to organize things a lot more, with games, themes, roleplays, etc. And when everyone is playing with everyone, and you’re not, you feel like the oddball.

Case in point? The party John and I went to last year over New Year’s. It was a lovely party, with good people. The hosts were awesome, the venue was comfortable, and we were thrilled to be included. However, I quickly realized how different parties had become from the first night of three.

There were a lot of spanking games, with different themes. But they all had one thing in common: bowls of slips with names on them. Everyone who identified as a bottom put their names in one bowl, and everyone who identified as tops put their names in another. If they identified as both, they put a slip in each bowl. And then one slip from each bowl was drawn and the two people were paired to engage in some sort of roleplay, with spanking.

As it happened, there were a lot more women at this gathering than men. Nearly all the men were switches. And pretty much all the women were too. Therefore, there were lots of women in the top bowl. And damned if nearly every time my name was drawn, I got paired with a woman.

Granted, I could have opted out and just watched. John had chosen not to put his name in anything, and I could have just sat with him and watched, laughed. But I wanted to belong. I wanted to be a part of it. So I decided to be a sport and be topped by whoever. And so, over and over, I bottomed to women.

Most of them were very respectful to me, knowing that this wasn’t my preference. The play was more on the light side, over clothes, etc. But it was excruciating for me. I felt uncomfortable and ridiculous. Again, no one’s fault but my own. If I wanted to play, this was how I had to play. I just didn’t like it.

I did say “most of them.” But of course, there always has to be one…

Before I get into this part, I am going to segue, and say something I haven’t had the guts to say before. But I do now. Because fuck it, it’s on my mind, and I feel like it needs to be said. I was thinking about making it a separate post, but I’ll keep it brief.

The #MeToo movement hit the BDSM and spanking scene hard. A lot of predatory men were exposed, stories of past assaults and consent violations were revealed. Things got pretty ugly and the scene was a dumpster fire for a while. But safety is important, and these truths needed to come out and be discussed.

But there’s one thing that, still, no one ever talks about. We hear all about the men who are handsy, rape-y, who push past known limits, who go too far, etc., etc. However, no one talks about the women who do the same thing. Ever. Not that I’ve ever seen, anyway.

Mind you, I am not dissing femme dommes as a whole, so spare me that accusation. I am friends with several femme dommes, they know who they are, and they know I have mad respect for them. But there are also the ones out there who hate men, and use their fetish in order to act out that hate. Who think the world revolves around them and what they want. Who think they are all-powerful and can do whatever they damn well please, demand whatever they damn well please. And they get away with it because people keep allowing them to.

How do I know so much about femme dommes, when I’ve never played with them? Easy. John did. Oh, mercy. Do I have stories. Years and years of stories. But I won’t go into them here. I will simply end this segue with something for everyone to consider and keep in mind, especially newbies. It is a reality that some tops are to be avoided (which, of course, makes us all appreciate the good ones even more). When you think of the worst kinds of tops — arrogant, egotistical, uncaring, cruel, in it for themselves alone — remember this: Not all of them have a Y chromosome. Predators and abusers are not limited to males.

So, back to the party. At midnight on New Year’s Eve, there was another game with the bowls of names. There was a table loaded up with implements. And this time, after people were paired, the top would give the bottom 23 strokes with an implement of the bottom’s choosing.

Again, I got paired with several women who were nice and respectful and kept things light. And then there was the one I didn’t know, had never met before.

When I went to choose my implement, I picked up the belt on the table. She said, “Uh-uh… my belt.” Okay, fine. She took her own belt off, and I started to bend over a stool. Then she said, “No. Those jeans need to come down.”

Say what now?

See, this is where I should have stood back up and said, “No, they don’t.” I should have honored my own boundaries. But again… I didn’t want to rock the boat. I didn’t want to be a poor sport. I didn’t want to not fit in.

So instead, I simply shrugged and said, “Okay,” and started to unbutton my jeans. And then she doubled down and said, “Hmmm… that didn’t sound anything like ‘yes, ma’am’ to me.”

Are you kidding me, lady? Who do you think you’re talking to?

Still, I didn’t say a word. I unzipped my jeans and shoved them down (leaving my underwear up, thank you very much) and bent back over. She gave me the 23 strokes, and they weren’t light, either. I grit my teeth through the whole thing. Then it was time to stand back up and finish with a hug.

I couldn’t resist. As I hugged her, I said in my snarkiest tone, “Happy New Year… maaaaaa’am.”

She laughed humorlessly. And then she said, in a voice dripping with condescension: “Oh, dear. I’m afraid you’re not going to have a Happy New Year with that attitude.”

I’ll be damned. I don’t believe in this sort of thing, but I’d swear that woman put a curse on me. Because 2023 turned out to be the worst year of my life.

Anyway… the experience left me feeling icky. And I realized this party wasn’t an anomaly. These games and icebreakers are now being played at the national parties too. And nearly every scheduled event involves some sort of roleplay, oftentimes ones I’m not comfortable with. I’m too damned old for the school themes, and I don’t like the whole family oriented themes either. And I don’t do any sort of age play. Again, more power to everyone who enjoys these things. The fact that I don’t is my problem. And I had to come to accept that maybe I’ve had my run and it’s time to bow out. Especially now that I don’t have John with me anymore.

I miss spanking. I still hope to find a local play partner. But my party days are definitely behind me.

So… a new year. 2023 was brutal, start to finish. Even in the early months, bad things happened. John had four different infections in rapid succession, which was stressful for both of us. My car was sideswiped on the freeway, on the driver’s side, when I was at the wheel. Then in June, the love of my life died.

The remaining half of the year was a blur of sheer hell, dealing with two problematic properties, bills, probate, a million forms to fill out, endless phone calls, handymen, roofers, painters, exterminators, you name it. It became ludicrous, so many things went wrong. After we finally sold John’s house, we went to work on the condo. New appliances, a new patio door, new lights and fixtures, new toilet, new mantel over the fireplace, the list went on and on. And when it was all done and the condo was sparkling and perfect, my realtor listed it. On the first day of the listing, it was 98 degrees, and she went to turn on the A/C. And then called me, telling me it was completely dead. My reaction was “Of course it is.”

I just had to roll with it all. I remember when the AC guy called and was trying to carefully and tactfully explain to me that the unit was fully shot, that the condo was built in the 80s and this was the original AC system, and they didn’t make them like this anymore, and he was going to have to cut things to make more room, and so on and so on and so on… and then I heard my realtor pipe up in the background: “In other words, we’re fucked!” And I laughed. What else could I do, really? I replaced the AC. And we sold the condo too.

And finally, after all that was done, this past month my favorite cousin passed away.

So yeah. Here’s my final thought on 2023.

Screw achievements. My achievement was I survived. I’m sad, I feel like I’ve aged ten years, I still cry every damn day, but I survived.

This year, I hope I can do more than just survive. I hope I can find some happiness again. I will never find love like I had with John again, I know this. But I need to decide what I’m going to do with the rest of my life, without him. More will be revealed, as they say.

I hope everyone had nice holidays, and that 2024 is good to you. ♥

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “New Year Musings

  1. Jenny Bell on said:

    Wow, Erica! what a story you started, you should write a book please, I have your others. I hope 2024 will be kinder to you and Don’t think you might not ever find anyone after John, it may happen and we are never too old for ❤️ I have been alone for 31 years and I’m 71 now and I have been chatting to someone Online for over a year, he lives in the USA. All the best, Jenny

    Like

  2. I hate what a difficult time you’ve had the past year, sis, and also hope things start to improve. Never say never about finding love again. 🫂

    I’m so sorry to hear that happened too. Women can also be predators/inappropriate, and yeah, it doesn’t get talked about as much. Of course, it’s a nuanced and delicate topic, as patriarchy is a factor, and there are statistically more male sexual predators bc of that. That said, I think it’s sexist to think women aren’t inherently capable of anything a man is. I’ve also had women in the past do things I didn’t really want, grope etc with zero negotiation/consent.

    Like

  3. rb759138 on said:

    Reading this I feel so sorry for you. 2023 has been a horrible year for you! I hope 2024 will bring kind people, fun and happiness into your life.

    Like

  4. Erica, I have followed you for some time, especially, over the past six months. I am so very sorry for all that was terrible that happened to you in 2023. Surely, 2024 will be a better year for both you and me.

    Like

  5. hugob00m on said:

    Hi, Erica. I’m glad to see you’re still posting.

    I had a fairly decent 2023. No one close to me died. I live in a house that, although it needs some repairs, it’s currently habitable. I’m old enough to collect Social Security but healthy enough to work.

    I think I missed the boat when it comes to spanking parties. The ones you describe “back in the Day” sound like a lot of fun. The one you went to last year sounds horrible.

    I hope that this year will be better for you than last year was.

    Like

  6. I know several people who are losing or have lost loved ones this year. I am so sorry for your loss, Erica. My troubles have not been as serious, comparatively, but it was still a difficult year. Let’s hope for a better 2024!

    Like

  7. Jenny — I don’t think I have another book in me, but thank you.

    Lily — it’s an important conversation that is never brought up. And it’s irked me for years. Even more so after #MeToo. And if I’d said anything in the thick of it all, I would have been blackballed and accused of not supporting women, which couldn’t be further from the truth. Now… meh. What have I got to lose? Like I said, I have amassed several horror stories of what dommes are capable of, so I know it’s real.
    I hope we both have better years. ♥

    rb — thank you. I hope so too!

    Rae — the way I see it, it has to be better. I feel like I’ve met my quota of awful for quite some time. Happy 2024 to you.

    Hugo — no, it wasn’t horrible. I made a point of stressing that the party was lovely with good people (just one bad one, which can happen at any party). I simply wasn’t a good fit for it. Things have changed and I haven’t.

    Jean Marie — overall, things in the country (hell, in the world) have really sucked lately, and a lot of people are struggling. I have not lost sight of that. I hope things get better for all of us. As for me… I just want to do a little more than survive. I hope your 2024 is better.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Michael on said:

    I. Love. You!

    Michael

    Like

  9. Hoping you have a great 2024, Erica after a very bad year. Bad tops come in both genders. Just as good ones do, btw. Take it a day at a time.

    Like

  10. Michael — I love you too!

    Bob — thanks; that’s what I aim to do.

    Like

  11. There is absolutely zero question that your 2023 sucked 😦
    Here’s to hoping that you’ll get a vastly improved 2024 (doesn’t sound like it should be a massive challenge…), with lots of happy moments and good experiences, and hopefully let you find someone local you can play with, who shares your variation of our kink.

    Like

  12. 2023 was not a great year for me either, though not as bad as you experienced. It was more like I stagnated, with no real progress on any front. Or, at least that’s how it seemed at the time. I wrote an extensive entry on my blog summing up what the year seemed like at the time, but in retrospect there were some things that were distinctly better than the year before. It was just sort of accidental. I didn’t plan much or try very hard, yet life kind of moved on despite my own lack of effort.

    Your descriptions of today’s spanking parties was helpful to me, in it confirmed some of my uninformed leanings. I’m in fairly close touch with “Aunt Kay’s” husband, of The Disciplinary Wives Club fame. I’ve never attended a spanking party. He has been encouraging me to give one a try but it just didn’t feel like my scene. I really detest organized activities and role play, so what you described as the new norm is kind of my nightmare.

    I can understand why you’d have problems with a really arrogant top. While I’m on the “bottom” in our spanking/DD relationship, I’m not a real submissive in any way, shape, or form. In ten years of blogging, the only personalities I’ve gotten into real fights with have, almost without exception, been BDSM “tops.” They often seem to have a need to turn every encounter into a “dick waving” contest, and it brings out the very worst of my own anti-authoritarian tendencies.

    Anyway, I hope your 2024 is much better than your 2023.

    Like

  13. Kyrel — thank you so much. ♥

    Dan — thanks for your perspective. I dunno… I shouldn’t make the parties sound like they’re all games, or all roleplays. But there is certainly a lot more of that now than there was before. And again, I’m not saying it’s wrong, I’m saying it’s not a fit for me. I don’t want to be one of those grumpy old “get off my lawn” types who wants to force things back to the way they were before — they can’t be. Things change, as much as I hate that fact. And I’m not the person I once was — I’m the same, but I’m older. I know now, more than before, that I can’t force myself into a place where I don’t feel like I fit.

    Like

  14. I am sorry for the passing of John this year. I do enjoy reading your blog and your insightful thoughts regarding spanking. If bottoming to a gentleman is what works for you then that is certainly what you should do.

    Like

  15. KDPierre on said:

    Hey, I finally figured out how to get this to work on your blog. Awaiting your next post!

    Like

Come on, you know you want to say something.